Where Cortexa fits
Cortexa is an operations team for independent therapy practices that runs the front desk, intake, billing, credentialing and payroll as one team. Billing runs about 3% of what you collect, and the front desk, intake and billing together about 6%. There's no long-term contract, and there's a 30-day money-back guarantee.
With Cortexa running the front desk, replies to new inquiries went from 4 hours to 5 minutes, and inquiries booking a consultation went from 30% to 54%. Kerrie Mohr at A Good Place Therapy saw first inquiries that become first sessions go from 22% to 47% in her first three months. See whether it pays for itself with your numbers.
What each option does
The three options differ in how far they take a call. An answering service answers live, takes a message and sends it to you, often around the clock. Some also schedule appointments. A virtual receptionist answers as your business, can transfer calls and may book into a calendar, and it bills by the minute or by the call. An intake coordinator, or an intake team, takes the inquiry through to the first appointment. That includes the callback, the screening questions, the insurance check, matching the caller to a clinician who fits, the paperwork and the follow-up with people who don't book. In a therapy practice, the gap between the options shows up after the call ends. Someone still has to explain the deductible, decide which clinician has room for a new client on that plan and chase the intake forms. The table further down shows which companies say they do which parts.
Answering service
Live answering and messages, often 24/7. Priced by the minute. Examples here are Ruby, Map Communications, notifyMD and AnswerConnect.
Virtual receptionist
Answers as your business, transfers calls and may book appointments. Priced by the minute or the call. Smith.ai is the example here.
Intake coordinator or intake team
Returns calls, screens, checks benefits, matches and books. Priced by the hour or by scope. Examples are Productive Therapist, Mental Health Virtual Assistant and Cortexa.
What an answering service doesn't see
An answering service sees the call. For a therapy practice, insurance, clinician fit and the claim all sit outside it. A message can include a member ID, but checking that the plan is active, in network and has a deductible to meet is separate work. So is matching a caller to a clinician by concern, modality, license, state, age and openings. An eligibility problem missed on the call surfaces later, as a denied claim.
None of the answering-service pages we read on September 30, 2026 say they check benefits or match callers to clinicians. That's fine for a practice whose own staff already do intake. It leaves a gap for a group that uses the answering service as its whole front desk.
Answering services that charge by the minute
These four companies answer live and publish healthcare pages. Ruby calls its staff virtual receptionists. We group it here because it prices by the minute. Everything below is from each company's own pages.
Ruby
$250 for 50 minutes up to $1,725 for 500 minutes a month. Live, US-based receptionists who schedule appointments, take payments and answer non-medical questions. Ruby provides a BAA to customers who need HIPAA service and says that service costs nothing extra. Its HIPAA page says it currently schedules appointments only through Calendly, which it says doesn't offer HIPAA-compliant service, so ask how booking would work for your practice.
Map Communications
$179 for 125 minutes a month, then $1.30 a minute. Plans run to $649 for 500 minutes, and a $49 pay-as-you-go plan charges $1.37 a minute. Every plan lists 24/7 coverage, HIPAA compliance and HITRUST and SOC 2 certification. Its HIPAA page describes appointment scheduling. We found no BAA statement.
notifyMD
$155 for 100 minutes a month, then $1.36 a minute, up to $685 for 500 minutes. Its mental health page says operators schedule appointments, take messages and escalate callers in immediate crisis to your on-call provider. It calls itself the first HITRUST-certified answering service. We found no BAA statement.
AnswerConnect
Its healthcare page describes 24/7 virtual receptionists, a free scheduling app, new-patient screening questions and a HIPAA setting you switch on for your account. Plans are sold in minutes. Its pricing page didn't load when we checked, so we list no price.
Smith.ai and other general virtual receptionists
Smith.ai charges by the call. Its human-first plans list 30 calls for $300 a month with $11.50 per extra call, 90 calls for $810 and 300 calls for $2,100. Appointment booking is $1.50 a call. Smith.ai says billing per call means no "mystery accounting" and no rushing callers off the phone.
Its medical page says "Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information (PHI) in regulated healthcare environments." By its own account, it isn't built for a therapy practice whose calls include client information.
Therapy intake coordinators
These companies sell hours of intake work from people trained for mental health practices. You decide how the hours are spent.
Productive Therapist
$1,140 a month for 20 hours, billed by the minute, with extra time at the same rate. Its W-2, US-based team works weekdays 9 to 5. It says it doesn't offer traditional live answering with a shared VA picking up every call. Its SimpleIntake AI receptionist answers 24/7, and the human-plus-AI bundle is $1,337 a month. The team matches callers with a therapist, books the first appointment and sets them up in your EHR. You sign a contract and a BAA.
Mental Health Virtual Assistant
$960 a month for up to 20 hours, up to $1,920 for 40, with no rollover. Assistants handle intake calls, screen new clients, verify benefits and eligibility and update the EHR, weekdays 9 to 5 in your time zone. Its FAQ says you get a BAA signed by the company and your assistant. Billing help is priced separately.
AI receptionists
AI receptionists answer calls and texts at any hour and can book consultations. Productive Therapist's SimpleIntake is one sold to therapy practices. HHS lists a third-party AI chatbot on a provider's patient portal that handles patient information for reminders or appointment scheduling as an example of a business associate, so the BAA question applies to AI tools too. Our guide to AI receptionists for therapy practices covers where they help and where a person is still needed.
What each company says it does, side by side
Each cell reflects the company's own pages on September 30, 2026. "Not stated" means we didn't find it there.
| Option | How it charges (as published) | Answers live? | Checks insurance? | Books with the right clinician? | Signs a BAA? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby | $250 for 50 min to $1,725 for 500 min a month | Yes, 24/7 | Not stated | Books appointments. HIPAA customers via Calendly only | Yes, for HIPAA service |
| Map Communications | $179 for 125 min, then $1.30 a min | Yes, 24/7 | Not stated | Schedules appointments. Matching not stated | Not stated |
| notifyMD | $155 for 100 min, then $1.36 a min | Yes, 24/7 | Not stated | Schedules appointments. Matching not stated | Not stated |
| AnswerConnect | Monthly minutes. No price on pages that loaded | Yes, 24/7 | Not stated | Scheduling app. Matching not stated | Not stated |
| Smith.ai | $300 for 30 calls, then $11.50 a call | Yes, 24/7 | Not stated | Books for $1.50 a call. Matching not stated | No. Says it can't handle PHI |
| Productive Therapist | $1,140 a month for 20 hours, by the minute | AI 24/7. People weekdays 9 to 5 | Not stated | Yes, matches and books | Yes |
| Mental Health Virtual Assistant | $960 a month for up to 20 hours | Intake calls weekdays 9 to 5 | Yes | Screens and schedules. Matching not stated | Yes |
Do answering services need to sign a BAA?
HHS's guidance turns on what a company does with patient information. HHS describes a business associate as a person or company that does work for a covered entity involving creating, receiving, maintaining or transmitting protected health information. It says the HIPAA Rules let a covered entity share that information with a business associate if it gets satisfactory assurances in a written business associate agreement, or BAA. An answering service that takes down a caller's name, reason for calling and insurance for your practice receives and passes on that kind of information. HHS also says companies that access patient information regularly to perform a service aren't mere conduits like the postal service. HHS adds that a business associate can't self-certify, or be certified by a third party, in place of the contract. A "HIPAA compliant" label or a security certification doesn't replace the signed agreement, so ask for the BAA itself.
Under HHS's guidance, covered entities are health plans, health care clearinghouses and health care providers that transmit health information electronically in connection with a covered transaction. This section summarizes HHS guidance. It isn't legal advice for your practice.
How per-minute and per-call pricing adds up
Minute and call plans are easy to compare in a quiet month. The bill moves with call volume and call length, and a therapy practice's volume moves too, for example when a new clinician opens a caseload.
The table below is a hypothetical example. It isn't a quote from either company. It assumes each call uses 4 billable minutes, however the service counts them. A quiet month has 100 calls, a typical month 150 and a busy month 225. Prices are each company's published 500-minute plan.
| Hypothetical month | Billable minutes | Map Communications Premium | notifyMD Plan 500 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quiet, 100 calls | 400 | $649 | $685 |
| Typical, 150 calls | 600 | $777 | $818 |
| Busy, 225 calls | 900 | $1,161 | $1,217 |
Reading the pricing example
For the busy month, Map's figure is $649 for 500 minutes plus 400 extra minutes at $1.28. notifyMD's is $685 plus 400 extra minutes at $1.33. Ruby's 500-minute plan is $1,725, and its pricing page lists no rate for extra minutes.
Per-call pricing moves with volume in the same way. Smith.ai's human-first Pro plan is $2,100 for 300 calls, then $8.50 a call. In both models the price covers answering. None of the answering-service pricing pages we read list insurance checks, so the callback, the benefits check, the match and the paperwork still need someone to do them.
Which option fits which practice
Match the option to the work you'd otherwise do yourself.
Solo clinician, messages after hours
An answering service is often enough. You return calls and book in your own calendar.
Practice with its own intake coordinator
An answering service or virtual receptionist can cover overflow and after hours. Your coordinator keeps insurance and matching.
Group that needs intake, with billing covered
A therapy intake coordinator adds callbacks, screening, benefits checks and booking, paid by the hour.
Group that wants the whole chain run
An operations team that answers, verifies insurance, matches, books and then bills. Cortexa is one.
The one-team option
On the front desk, our own team answers the practice's phone line, returns voicemails and missed calls, and responds to email, website-form and directory inquiries such as Psychology Today. We follow a written playbook of the practice's services, clinicians, fees and policies, and the phone number stays the practice's.
At intake, prospective clients see clinician options matched on the practice's own criteria, and the client chooses. We book the consultation and verify insurance eligibility and in-network status. For out-of-network and self-pay clients, we calculate the estimated out-of-pocket cost. We send and chase paperwork, send reminders, follow up with people who don't book and keep a waitlist. Clinical questions go to the clinician the practice names. For callers in crisis, we follow the practice's safety protocol, direct them to emergency resources and escalate to its clinical director.
Cortexa's own W-2 employees and 1099 contractors answer the phones, and we don't hand reception to another company. We sign a BAA, and patient information is never used to train AI models. We agree the exact scope and rate before you start. See how our front desk works.
Common questions
How much does it cost to hire an answering service?
Answering services publish monthly plans priced by the minute. On September 30, 2026, notifyMD listed 100 minutes for $155 a month and Map Communications 125 minutes for $179, each with a per-minute charge over the plan. Ruby listed 50 minutes for $250 up to 500 minutes for $1,725. Smith.ai charges by the call, from $300 for 30 calls. Your bill depends on call volume and length, so price a busy month as well as a quiet one.
Do answering services need to sign a BAA?
HHS says the HIPAA Rules let a covered practice share patient information with a business associate if it gets satisfactory assurances in a written agreement, the BAA. HHS defines business associates by what they do, including receiving or transmitting patient information on the practice's behalf, which is what an answering service taking client messages does. HHS also says certification can't stand in for the agreement. Ask for the BAA before you forward calls. This isn't legal advice.
What is the difference between a virtual receptionist and an answering service?
An answering service answers your calls and takes messages, often around the clock. A virtual receptionist answers as your business and does more during the call, such as booking appointments, transferring calls or taking payments. The terms overlap. Ruby, for example, calls its staff virtual receptionists and prices by the minute. For a therapy practice, also ask who checks the caller's insurance, who matches them to a clinician and who books the consultation.
Can a virtual receptionist book appointments in my EHR?
Some can, depending on the service and the access you give it. Ruby's HIPAA page says it currently schedules only through Calendly, which it says isn't HIPAA-compliant. Productive Therapist says its intake team sets new clients up in your EHR. Before you sign, ask which EHR the service works in, whether its staff need their own logins and whether that access is covered by the BAA.
Is an intake coordinator worth it for a group practice?
It depends on who does intake now and what it costs you. If you or a clinician return calls between sessions, check benefits and decide who fits, an intake coordinator takes that work over. Published therapy intake help runs $960 a month for up to 20 hours at Mental Health Virtual Assistant and $1,140 for 20 hours at Productive Therapist. The intake conversion calculator helps you compare that with the first sessions your inquiries become.
